Skip to content

Bill C-30, Stephen Harper, and spying on Canadians…

November 2, 2012

Well, if you aren’t yet depressed enough about the state of the climate, or the presidential election, or our continued involvement in the War in Afghanistan, I have more good news for you.

The Harper government is looking to pass Bill C-30, which will allow the police and government agencies to listen in on anyone’s (and everyone’s) internet use, telephone calls, or social media connections, at any time, wherever they want, and without a warrant.

Of course the police are quick to get out in front of this issue and say that C-30 is only for our own good. They are simply looking for effective ways to bring down pedophiles, and cyber-bullies, and gang members. And it’s tough work, and they need every tool at their disposal.

So what if it gives the government carte-blanche privileges to spy on everyone – at any time – in real-time – without a warrant.

Those damn pesky civil rights in our Charter and Bill of Rights are just a pain in the ass anyway. And besides, Obama passed the same set of laws last year. We are simply just trying to keep up. 

And what with all those new immigrants we have – you can’t trust them too much now can you? If they have to watch me and everything I do in order to watch my neighbour, I’m good with that.

If they listen in on all my conversations to make sure I’m not disenchanted with the government, or to find out if I’m on the prowl for some (illegal) pot from one of my friends, or, if they are looking to locate where our next local anti-oil pipeline potluck dinner crusade will be held, than they are saving me from myself anyway.

If this is not yet another example of our current state of creeping fascism, another citizenship right taken away, bit-by-bit, than I don’t know what else to call it.

It will be like living at home all over again. With my righteous and caring Stephen Harper father, and his drone henchmen, who have no qualms with the idea that the government should have full and free access to spy on every member of Canada’s democracy.

I feel safer already.

 

No comments yet

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.