Skip to content

Jogging…part I.

May 17, 2011

 

Weekly street fair, Defensa Avenue, San Telmo District, Buenos Aires

I am out for a jog and I am passing other aging Lotharios who exchange with me knowing glances through our sweat and our crow’s feet – sharing the knowledge of a not-so-secret secret of a life that is now more than half-way done.

Circling the block I also pass a few middle-aged women out for a run but they share no glance, knowingly or otherwise, for this is Toronto and they look at nothing and see no one; eyes averted, distracted – I assume –  by the endless to-do lists that forever seem to run through their heads.

I find that most women in Toronto, if they see me at all, view me as little more than an obstacle to maneuver around as they hurry about their day. I long-ago realized that women are not, in fact, interested in me anymore, and I do not remember the last time a woman in Toronto has made eye contact with me in public – for any reason. I have long stopped trying to chat up baristas and bookstore girls.

I don’t know why most Toronto women are like this, but I know it isn’t simply because most men are bastards.

There’s something about the dominant Toronto culture. It makes us reserved, slightly fearful; we avert our gaze, are deferential (and confuse this with politeness), and are generally cold towards each other.

As an outsider, when you first come to Toronto you notice it most accutely. Newcomers always complain that Torontonians are cold, reserved, stand-0ffish. My Latin American and African friends – coming as they do from warm and open cultures – wax nostalgic for the cafés and evening sidewalk chatter that they once knew in Santiago, San Salvador, and Accra.

But after a while you acquiesce, curtail your social enthusiasms, stop initiating conversations, become part of the norm. I went to visit my Cuban friend in Miami a couple of years ago, whom I hadn’t seen in a few years. She was shocked at my change of character. A friend came from New York for Pride and found Torontonians’ reserved-ness tedious and off-putting (and this was at Pride!).

And it is a “Toronto” thing – this reserved-ness, this “don’t look people in the eye” thing that we do. People who have visited or moved here from Halifax or Montreal will tell you the same thing. Torontonians are uptight, anal, haughty even. 
 

I wasn’t in a New York café fifteen minutes last year when a woman commented on a story she saw me reading in the New York Times and someone else from across the table picked up on the comment and a full conversation ensued. I didn’t know what to do. I was flustered. Random people (women!) don’t talk to me in a café in Toronto. Ever! It’s so rude! It took me an hour to disengage from the conversation and all but run from the café in fear and confusion!

I want to tell Torontonians to take all their little tensions and their random anxieties and stuff them in their bike helmets and in their yogawear. I want to tell everyone that it is okay to greet your neighbour, have a conversation in your local café, nod to your passing jogger, dance when the mood hits you.

But it is Toronto afterall. So I keep my thoughts to myself and I try not to look women in the eye.

Lest I offend them.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jun permalink
    April 3, 2012 5:16 pm

    After half a dozen years attempting to make a life as a relocatee to Toronto, I exited for good and all roughly a year ago. Ever since, I have been thrilled to rediscover that I am indeed capable of being a happy, sociable, fully human being, although I admit that unpleasant “change of character” still refluxes upon occasion. I often struggle to explain to others who have never lost time to that place, or have liked it well enough after a week’s visit, what was degrading my joie de vivre and crushing my keyif during my northerly exile, but find they are unable to conceive of a city and a people willing to subsist beneath so wet a blanket. In future, I will simply refer others to this article. It sums up the psyche of the place far more accurately, elegantly and poignantly than I have ever been able. Thank you Mr, Hinze, and I hope you make good your own escape in some not-too-distant future.

  2. Torontonian male permalink
    November 14, 2014 7:36 pm

    Great article…

    There are lots of articles/blogs that describe the experience of living in Toronto but yours stood out to me.

    I’m a handsome, talented, educated, 28 year old young male professional and I find this city absolutely brutal. Grew up here…

    Up until about a year ago I used to fight the culture constantly. I’d force conversations on people and act silly in public… but after a while the city just wears you out. You just stop approaching and stop expecting anything from others… When someone smiles at me or even just looks at me IT BLOWS MY MIND. I’m so stunned by someone being nice to me here that I come across as awkward and confused…

    After a while you just get tired of trying… Its expensive here, last call is at 2am, everyone is cliquey and closed off, there is no hope of buying property, and the city is so overly feminist that men and women can’t reasonably trust each other… let alone like each other…

    I’m getting out of here ASAP.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.