Skip to content

True story…

November 29, 2015

A little moment from when I lived on Allen Ave in Toronto…

_DSC3571…I was sitting on my front steps admiring the fine quality of the early spring sun, while my cat rolled about on the sidewalk and purred contentedly. Just then two couples came walking up the street together.

The men were walking out in front of the women, and when they passed, they ignored both me and the cat, for they were deeply entranced in a conversation that involved both work and money.

The women followed, walking arm-in-arm, and to my amusement they stopped to tell me they were “absolutely in love with my cat”.

“Her name is Miss Price” I tell them._DSC4118

“What a fabulous name” one woman says to the other.

“Such exquisite colors”, the other lady says back.

“To have a ‘Mrs.’ or a “Ms” before one’s name suggests great character and self composure” the first lady said matter-of-factly.

The other woman couldn’t agree more.

They clasp their hands in glee and said that it must be such a fabulous street for cats to live on when they have such wonderful names.

I remark that I had never thought of it that way.

“You have a fabulous day, Miss Price”, the taller woman says as they begin to move on.

“And don’t worry about the fact there are never enough servants to go around, Miss Price. You’ll just have to make the best of it.”

IMG_2498I immediately liked the tall spindly woman in the beige slacks, flats, and denim jacket. Her unreserved sincerity, and ridiculous enthusiasm for my cat, amused me greatly.

What a fabulous street”, I hear her again say to the other.

“Fabulous indeed,” I think to myself as Miss Price comes up to rub against my leg.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 29, 2015 2:59 pm

    yay MissPrice! Having to put up with so few servants.

Leave a Reply

