Skip to content

playing with compositions

September 16, 2014

I’m not sure what ‘composition’ is, I only know what I like when I see it.

_DSC9395

Halifax Common

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I know that I don’t necessarily trust “compositions” for they distort reality – create hyper-realism – and can turn the real into something that it is not.

DSCF0038

Homemade soup

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yet, there is also the contradictory allure of the compositional piece. That Buddhist moment of simplicity.

DSCF0608

Riverdale Park – Toronto

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t remotely pretend to know what makes a great compositional – especially in the age of digital photography, where a photo can be dramatically altered with the most basic of computer programs.

DSCF0004

distortion through glass

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And, of course, compositions are highly subjective. One person’s art is another person’s “WTF is that?” moment.

DSCF0025

Christmas Cactus

But I do think – at least for me – finding those rare compositional moments is about slowing down – living in the very second – and staying there for a moment – almost like sitting still, seeing a very small part of the world, holding it in your hand. Before it is gone.

_DSC7252

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Eric Weiner permalink
    September 17, 2014 12:46 am

    The side of the hill and the leaf are both very beautiful. E Eric Weiner ericweinerphotography.com A Museum Of My Own amuseumofmyown.com eweiner98@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

